ADVERTISEMENT

Leadership and decision making thoughts...

wiedster9

All-American
Jan 6, 2012
Ok I want to get opinions from some of the people out there in leadership making roles. This post is obviously started because of what happened in OU and the recent decision to expel the offenders. I for one agree with the expulsion. But my problem is more with leadership in general. I am a former Navy officer and was in a positon of leadership over many great young sailors. But, what I consider to be good leadership and what I have been taught is the way to lead and make decision seems completely absent from our society. For example: I saw someone post "I am really happy they made a quick decisive move to expel the students"

I agree that expulsion would probably ultimately be the correct decision. My problem is in the thinking that making quick decisions when you have time to think is somehow good leadership. I know the media dogs would be hounding them to do something, but that is what a good leader does. He/she takes the pressure and influences and all the other external "noise" and sets it aside. Evaluates all of the options and makes a decision they deem to be the best for all involved regardless of pressure. Would the same decision have been made if the video wasn't leaked but sent to the dean instead? What would have been decided if the President had only heard rumors? Would they have investigated?
My overriding point is that a right decision is right whether one person knows about it or the whole world. The only thing that changes is perception. How often will the right decision be made quickly and immediately after something happens that effects you emotionally? Or is it usually after you take a step back and think before you decide?

I posted the below on another thread but it really made me want others opinions on this. Can you be an effective leader if you only do what is expected of you by society?